Doors Closing….

October 22, 2011 dduvall2

I know what you guys are thinking…. you have not heard from me in a while and I probably got whisked away by some Internet Knight and I am off basking in the glory of love…NOPE! I have just been super busy! However, I have been dating sporadically and have soon realized that lawyers and attorneys are not for me. By the way – is there even a difference?!?

I met an attorney on Match.com and after an email we decided to meet for drinks. His profile showed that he was educated, grew up in the South and career motivated – sounded good to me. We decided to go to Black Finn in DC. I arrived a little early and quickly made friends with the bartender and the older gentlemen next to me. Trying to be on my best behavior before my blind date – I opt out of ordering my vodka surprise for a beer.

Going into the date I knew that Mr. Attorney had a facial scar. It covered part of his forehead and ran just under his eye. I know what you are thinking – that this was a charity date and I felt bad for him HOWEVER not the case at all. He was extremely good-looking and the scar made him appealing. I have scars from childhood and from being clumsy! People – trust me when I say he was a good-looking man! The eye scar reminded me of Petey off the Little Rascals. Who doesn’t love Petey?

Mr. Attorney walked in about 15 minutes late – which is fine because he told me he was running late. After catching up and learning he had multiple degrees in education as well as being attorney/engineer. We chatted about our families and growing up. He and I are both from large families and we seemed to be hitting it off. We finished the date and walked to the metro. It was raining and he held the umbrella for us as we walked (very sweet). We walked into the metro station and through the gate and as we are descending down the escalator, he takes off running to catch the train. He jumps into the metro and as the doors are closing he pops his head out and says, “I had fun – thanks for a good time”. And the doors closed.

I am still on the escalator heading to the platform when I am trying to process what the hell just happened? Smh. I thought we were hitting it off and we were both flirting with each other. My train arrived a few moments later and climbed in still trying to figure it all out. Twenty minutes later I got a text from him that he really did have fun and we should do it again. I said that I would like that and that was the last I heard from him.

FML… Cheers!

Entry Filed under: Uncategorized

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

October 2011
M T W T F S S
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31